The world of Instagram. Is it really all that great?

Happylittleegg Instagram started as my own personal Insta with many photographs of my every day life. Over the past year as you all know I’ve been in the process of buying a new home, therefore my posts have become house related.

When this started to be the case I noticed my friends in my real life wasn’t interested in my constant house updates so were becoming slightly irritated with my updates of e.g. ‘Look at my new kettle posts’ etc ha!

So I decided to dedicate the Happylittleegg Instagram for my home only.

Because of the move to my new home, I noticed my likes were increasing from around 20 likes per post to 50+.

Yes I know, to many of my Insta friends this is nothing as they get 100+ on each post, and over 1000 follows. (We all start somewhere I keep telling myself).

Screen Shot 2017-07-16 at 12.51.14.png

(My most liked post, currently 217 likes! I have no idea why, it’s not even a fantastic shot)

 

My first website ‘appearance’

Yes I know it’s nothing to most, but it was lovely to be asked to be featured on the ‘Inspiration Gallery’ for Breville.

I’m proud to say that two of my Instagram posts have now been shared on Breville’s ‘Inspiration Gallery’.

Before my first post was shared (far right image), I just celebrated receiving 600 follows! But when this image was shared I shot up by 100 followers in 5 days. For me this was fantastic!

So when Breville ask to share another post of mine, I was over the moon.

I received nothing.

If anything my follows and likes had dropped!

When this started to happen I thought, what am I doing wrong? I started to feel a little down hearted. Because secretly I wanted to keep increasing my follows as I am very proud of my little home.

However when I sat and spoke to Adam, I realised how stupid I was being.

After looking from an outsiders point of view, I was being silly. I have so much to be thankful for, and I am so proud of where I am in my life.

At 24 I own a home with my lovely boyfriend and our little boy Ned (our dog) and I have my dream career which I worked very hard to get.

Anyway… who want’s to be ‘Insta Famous’?!

I’ve noticed many ‘Insta Famous’ accounts getting very obsessive, even going to the extent of creating fake profiles to stalk people who have ‘copied’ their ideas.

In my eyes, they need to see that their home is inspiration to others. Don’t be jealous when somebody uses the same wall art, or table arrangement. Be proud that it was you who inspired them.

This have become a litte rant! Sorry (not sorry!). 

I’m aware I don’t get many views on here or even on my Insta but this has become a lovely little hobby for me when I have some down time.

I work full time and work god damn hard!  This is my little quiet haven and I need to be proud of that.

As Bear Grylls annoying always says ‘positivity, positivity, positivity’! As if I just quoted Bear Grylls haha!

Much Love

Sophie x

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

